2024 Balinale Announces Award Winners

posted in: News
Balinale has announced the winners
Balinale has announced the winners of its 17th edition on June 6, 2024

The Bali International Film Festival (Balinale) announced the winners of its 17th edition where it showed 60 films representing 25 countries from over 600 submissions.

The jury announced the following winners chosen from the 24 films in-competition on 6 June:

Best Feature Documentary: No More History Without UsPriscilla Regis Brasil (Brazil)
Jury Statement: “As media becomes shorter, our memory is also drawn to something immediate and new. History is forgotten, while the impact is neglected. This film is a brave, brilliant, and meticulous undertaking of narrative change by and for Amazonian, which resonates throughout the Global South.”

Best Short Documentary: Nusa Ina, Anne Jan Sijbrandij (Netherlands)
Jury Statement: “We were moved by this film and the plight of displaced people so well told in the film as the reason short documentaries are so important, they are using film to preserve history and as a form of activism, which gives them an enduring power.”

Best Short Narrative: The Masterpiece, Alex Lora (Spain)
Jury Statement: “The film’s nuanced narrative and underlying tension subtly reveal the power dynamics and prejudices at play, as the immigrants hold something the wealthy couple desires. This complexity is combined with solid performance and direction.”

Best Feature Narrative: The Gospel of the Beast,Sheron Dayoc (Philippines)
Jury Statement: “This film is engaging due to its strong direction, well-written script, and impressive cinematography. The narrative arc, where the protagonist grapples with a moral dilemma before ultimately choosing the right path, is particularly compelling and resonates deeply.”

Special Jury Award: Dhvani – The Sound Around (Short Documentary) Anurag Dwivedi (India)
Jury Statement: “The film was engaging throughout. It was well told, the production values were high, it showcased India beautifully and was fascinating.”

Special Jury Award: Porcelain War (Feature Documentary) Brendan Bellomo, Slava Leontyev (United States)
Jury Statement: “Many films about war focus on the devastating impact of war. This film is very unique and inspiring because it invites us to see Ukraine from the point of view of love. The love portrayed here is deep, multi-dimensional, and bitter-sweet. Through their art, storytelling, and love, we see Ukraine through the resilience of its people, we see peace as something worth fighting for.”

Gary L Hayes Award for Emerging Indonesian Filmmaker: HUMA (Short Narrative) Kezia Alexandra (Indonesia)
“Kezia Alexandra embodies the spirit of this award—a burgeoning director and multifaceted artist whose distinctive style and visionary storytelling are reshaping Indonesia’s cinematic landscape.”

Gary L Hayes Award for Emerging Indonesian Filmmaker was established in honor of Gary Hayes, a pioneer in the industry who provided opportunities for many Indonesian filmmakers. Balinale continues to recognize his passion for helping young aspiring creatives fulfill their potential.

Committee Choice: Feature Narrative – Asog,Seán Devlin (Canada)
Committee statement: “Through masterful storytelling, the audience is invited to the world of characters, experiencing their emotions intimately and breaking down societal boundaries. In a landscape where various agendas vie for attention, Devlin’s work achieves in one film what many associations strive for: fostering understanding and acceptance.

Committee Choice: Feature Documentary – Point of ChangeRebecca Coley (United Kingdom)
Committee statement: “The film takes you into an entirely different culture and community then elevates the significance of this modern cautionary tale through its connection with Kevin Lovett. Point of Change isn’t just any documentary—it’s a captivating, dramatic feature that draws you in with its unique storytelling.”

Sustainable Film Award: Kewang – Nature’s Ancient Guardians, Indah Rufiati (Indonesia)
The new category focuses on the power of storytelling to tackle pressing sustainability challenges and this film doesn’t just raise awareness, it inspires viewers to take action and make a positive difference.

Aicef Cross-cultural Award: Sculpting the Giant,Banu Wirandoko, Rheza Arden Wiguna
The Cross-Cultural Film Award is presented to a pair of first or second-time feature filmmakers whose work robustly embraces cross-cultural themes.

Balinale 2024 Jury Members:

Jury statement on the films in competition: “We were very impressed by the caliber of the finalists in this year’s competition. Each film showcased a unique perspective, delving into diverse cultures, personal stories, and social issues, highlighting immense talent and creativity from around the world. It was an honor to be part of this jury and judge such accomplished works.”

Ben Vereen
Tony Award-winning American actor, dancer, and singer. Ben gained prominence for his performances in the original Broadway productions of the musical Jesus Christ Superstar, for which he received a Tony Award nomination, and Pippin, for which he won Best Actor in a Musical. He has starred in numerous television programs including the role of ‘Chicken’ George Moore in Alex Haley’s landmark TV miniseries Roots, for which he received an Emmy nomination in 1977. His latest feature film is Roland Joffe’s The Gray House.

Sam Buckland
Director of Programming and International Engagement at the Australian Film Institute (AFI AACTA) where he is responsible for curating and managing all their programs worldwide. For over 25 years Sam has produced hundreds of influential screen-related activities in Australia and abroad. Before joining AACTA, Sam spent over 10 years as the European Director of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (the OSCARS®)serving as the Academy’s principal representative in Europe.

Amelia Hapsari
As the first Indonesian inducted into the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences (the OSCARS®)Amelia is a documentary filmmaker, directing and producing since 2001. As Program Director of In-Docs (2012 — 2020), Amelia supported the best Asian documentaries with mentorship, funding, and distribution from around the globe. She initiated key platforms like Dare to Dream Asia, Good Pitch Southeast Asia 2017, Good Pitch Indonesia 2019, Docs By The Sea 2017 – 2020, IF/Then Southeast Asia 2019.

Josie Lin
Josie joined the Asia Film Awards Academy (AFA Academy), a non-profit organization founded in 2015 by the three major Asian film festivals – Busan, Hong Kong, and Tokyo. She serves as its Executive Director and industry partner with BAFTA for one of their flagship programs, Breakthrough. Working with various international film festivals in setting up projects in Asia, she encourages exchange between Hong Kong and other Asian film audiences.

source: https://asianmoviepulse.com/2024/06/2024-balinale-announces-award-winners/