Winners Announced!


The 11th Balinale came to a close with winners of the first Jury Film Competition announced. Best Feature: Cold of Kalandar (Mustafa Kara, Hun/Tur), Best Documentary: Nokas (Manuel Alberto Maia, Idn) & Best Short Subject: Trespass (Mirrah Foulkes, Aus).

The fesrival's annual Audience Choice Awards went to Best Feature: Moonlight (Barry Jenkins, USA), Best Documentary: Chaplin in Bali (Raphaël Millet, Bel/Fra/Sgp) World Premiere, & Best Short Subject: Liefde (Love) (Enang Wattimena, Nld) International Premiere.

The festival’s 2017 theme of 'Connecting Communities Through the World of Film' was clearly demonstrated in every one of these wonderful films!

Jury Members included Michael Rowe, Jeane Huang & Erwin Arnada with Advisors Jay Stern & Donna Smith.

They stated that the movies selected stand out in story telling, directing, editing and cinematography. The director presented every element intensely, emotionally and in a poetic and beautiful way.